CBBI Faculty

Brandon Ashfeld

B Ashfeld

  • Office: 305D McCourtney Hall
  • Phone: 574.631.1727
  • Email: bashfeld@nd.edu
  • Department; Chemistry and Biochemistry
  • Research Interests: Synthetic organic chemistry, transition metal catalysis in synthetic methods development

Brian M. Baker

Baker

  • Office: 236A Nieuwland Science Hall
  • Phone: 574.631.9810
  • Email: brian-baker@nd.edu
  • Department; Chemistry and Biochemistry
  • Research Interests: Biophysics and structural biology of molecular recognition in the immune system

Basar Bilgicer

Bilgicersquare

  • Office: 205C McCourtney Hall
  • Phone: 574.631.1429
  • Email: bbilgicer@nd.edu
  • Department: Chemical and biomolecular Engineering, Concurrent:Chemistry and Biochemistry
  • Research Interests: Biophysical chemistry and biomolecular drug design

Brian Blagg

Brian Blagg 1

  • Office: 305G McCourtney Hall
  • Phone:574.631.6877
  • Email: bblagg@nd.edu
  • Department: Chemistry and Biochemistry
  • Research Interests: Medicinal chemistry, protein folding, drug design, and organic chemistry

Jessica Brown

Jessica Brown

  • Office: 451 Stepan Chemistry Hall
  • Phone: 574.631.6486
  • Email: jbrown33@nd.edu
  • Department: Chemistry and Biochemistry
  • Research Interests: Structure and function of RNA triple helices and their protein-binding partners

Matthew Champion

Matt Champion

  • Office: 140B McCourtney Hall
  • Phone: 574.631.1787
  • Email: mchampio@nd.edu
  • Department: Chemistry and Biochemistry
  • Research interests: Biochemistry, Physical/Analytical Chemistry, Life Processes, Measurement

Patricia A. Champion

Champion

  • Office: 217 Galvin Life Sciences
  • Phone: 574.631.8375
  • Email: champion.7@nd.edu
  • Department: Biological Sciences
  • Research Interests: Molecular genetics of mycobacterial protein secretion and pathogenesis

Mayland Chang

chang

  • Office: 354C McCourtney Hall
  • Phone: 574.631.2965
  • Email: mchang@nd.edu
  • Department: Chemistry and Biochemistry
  • Research Interests: Molecular basis of diabetic wound healing, discovery of new classes of antibacterials, drug metabolism and pharmacokinetics

Juan Del Valle

Juan Del Valle

  • Office: 240G McCourtney Hall
  • Phone: 574.631.9864
  • Email: jdelvalle@nd.edu
  • Department: Chemistry and Biochemistry
  • Research Interests: Life processes, medicine and synthesis

Norman Dovichi

Norman Dovichi

  • Office: 140F McCourtney Hall
  • Phone: 574.631.2778
  • Email: ndovichi@nd.edu
  • Department: Chemistry and Biochemistry
  • Research Interests: Physical/analytical chemistry

Michael T. Ferdig

Michael Ferdig

  • Office: 280 Galvin Life Sciences
  • Phone: 574.631.9973
  • Email: mferdig@nd.edu
  • Department: Biological Sciences
  • Research Interests: Genetics and genomics of drug resistance and virulence in the malaria parasite

Holly V. Goodson

goodson

  • Office: 439 Stepan Chemistry
  • Phone: 574.631.7744
  • Email: hgoodson@nd.edu
  • Department: Chemistry and Biochemistry
  • Research Interests: Cytoskeleton organization and microtubule interactions

Paul Helquist

helquist

  • Office: 361 Stepan Chemistry
  • Phone: 574.631.7822
  • Email: Paul.Helquist.1@nd.edu
  • Department: Chemistry and Biochemistry
  • Research Interests: Synthetic methods, synthesis and mechanism of action of biologically active compounds

Shaun Lee

lee

  • Office: 325 Galvin Life Sciences
  • Phone: 574.631.7197
  • Email: lee.310@nd.edu
  • Department: Biological Sciences
  • Research Interests: Molecular macrobiology and biosynthesis of peptide antibiotics

Laurie Littlepage

Littlepagesquare

  • Office: 132 Harper Hall
  • Phone: 574.631.4804
  • Email: llittlep@nd.edu
  • Department: Chemistry and Biochemistry
  • Research Interests: Mechanisms of cancer progression

Xin Lu

Xin L

  • Office: 109 Galvin Life Science Center
  • Phone: 574-631-6592
  • Email: xlu@nd.edu
  • Department: Biological Sciences
  • Research Interests: Molecular Understanding and Immunotherapy of Metastatic Cancer

Mary Ann McDowell

Mary Ann Mcdowell

  • Office: 215 Galvin Life Sciences
  • Phone: 574.631.9771
  • Email: mcdowell.11@nd.edu
  • Department: Biological Sciences
  • Research Interests: Immunobiology of Leishmania infections

Christian Melander

Christian Melander

  • Office: 204F McCourtney Hall
  • Phone: 574.631.9036
  • Email: cmelande@nd.edu
  • Department: Chemistry and Biochemistry
  • Research Interests: medicinal chemistry, synthesis, drug delivery, infectious diseases

Marvin J. Miller

miller

  • Office: 346 Nieuwland Science Hall
  • Phone: 574.631.7571
  • Email: Marvin.J.Miller.2@nd.edu
  • Department: Chemistry and Biochemistry
  • Research Interests: Development of new synthetic methodology, synthesis and study of biologically important compounds

Shahriar Mobashery

mobashery

  • Office: 354B McCourtney Hall
  • Phone: 574.631.2933
  • Email: mobashery@nd.edu
  • Department: Chemistry and Biochemistry
  • Research Interests: Mechanism of resistance to antibiotics, development and mechanism of action of novel antibiotics

Jeffrey Peng

Jeff Peng

  • Office: 434 Stepan Chemistry
  • Phone: 574.631.2983
  • Email: jpeng@nd.edu
  • Department: Chemistry & Biochemistry
  • Research Interests: NMR spectroscopy, molecular flexibility and dynamics

Jeanne Romero-Severson

Jeanne Romero Severson

  • Office: 327 Galvin Life Science Center
  • Phone: 574.631.3938
  • Email: jromeros@nd.edu
  • Department: Biological Sciences
  • Research Interests: Genetic mechanisms that result in complex phenotypes

Jeffrey S. Schorey

Jeff Schorey

  • Office: 129 Galvin Life Sciences
  • Phone: 574.631.3734
  • Email: Jeffrey.S.Schorey.1@nd.edu
  • Department: Biological Sciences
  • Research Interests: Immunology and cell biology of mycobacterium, host-cell interactions

Margaret Schwarz

Margaret Schwartz 2

  • Office: A126 Harper Hall
  • Phone: 574.631.5634
  • Email: margaret.schwarz@nd.edu
  • Department: Biochemistry
  • Research Interests: Lung development, metabolic regulation of tissue injury and repair

Bradley D. Smith

Smith

  • Office: 340 McCourtney Hall
  • Phone: 574.631.8632
  • Email: Bradley.D.Smith.115@nd.edu
  • Department: Chemistry and Biochemistry
  • Research Interests: Bioorganic and supramolecular chemistry, in vivo animal imaging

Sharon Stack

Sharon Stack

  • Office: A200D Harper
  • Phone: 574.631.2518
  • Email: “sharon.stack.11@nd.edu” mailto:sharon.stack.11@nd.edu
  • Department: Chemistry and Biochemistry
  • Research Interests: Regulation of proteolysis and adhesion

Richard E. Taylor

Taylor

  • Office: 305A McCourtney Hall
  • Phone: 574.631.5674
  • Email: taylor.61@nd.edu
  • Department: Chemistry and Biochemistry
  • Research Interests: Synthetic organic chemistry: conformation-activity relationships of polyketide natural products

Rebecca Whelan

Rebecca Whelan Resized

  • Phone: 574.631.1853
  • Email: rwhelan1@nd.edu
  • Department: Chemistry and Biochemistry
  • Research Interests: Biochemistry & Physical/Analytical Chemistry, Medicine

Olaf Wiest

Wiest

  • Office: 305 McCourtney Hall
  • Phone: 574.631.5876
  • Email: Olaf.G.Wiest.1@nd.edu
  • Department: Chemistry and Biochemistry
  • Research Interests: Organic and bioorganic reaction mechanisms

Rebecca Wingert

Wingert

  • Office: 218 Galvin Life Sciences
  • Phone: 574.631.0907
  • Email: rwingert@nd.edu
  • Department: Biological Sciences
  • Research Interests: Developmental biology and regeneration

Siyuan Zhang

Siyuan Zhang

  • Office: Harper Cancer Research Institute, A130
  • Phone: 574.631.4635
  • Email: szhang8@nd.edu
  • Department: Biological Sciences
  • Research Interests: Cancer biology: tumor metastasis and drug resistance