CBBI Faculty

Brian M. Baker

Baker

  • Office: 236A Nieuwland Science Hall
  • Phone: 574.631.9810
  • Email: brian-baker@nd.edu
  • Department; Chemistry and Biochemistry
  • Research Interests: Biophysics and structural biology of molecular recognition in the immune system

Basar Bilgicer

Bilgicersquare

  • Office: 205C McCourtney Hall
  • Phone: 574.631.1429
  • Email: bbilgicer@nd.edu
  • Department: Chemical and biomolecular Engineering, Concurrent:Chemistry and Biochemistry
  • Research Interests: Biophysical chemistry and biomolecular drug design

Brian Blagg

Brian Blagg 1

  • Office: 305G McCourtney Hall
  • Phone:574.631.6877
  • Email: bblagg@nd.edu
  • Department: Chemistry and Biochemistry
  • Research Interests: Medicinal chemistry, protein folding, drug design, and organic chemistry

Jessica Brown

Jessica Brown

  • Office: 451 Stepan Chemistry Hall
  • Phone: 574.631.6486
  • Email: jbrown33@nd.edu
  • Department: Chemistry and Biochemistry
  • Research Interests: Structure and function of RNA triple helices and their protein-binding partners

Matthew Champion

Matt Champion

  • Office: 140B McCourtney Hall
  • Phone: 574.631.1787
  • Email: mchampio@nd.edu
  • Department: Chemistry and Biochemistry
  • Research interests: Biochemistry, Physical/Analytical Chemistry, Life Processes, Measurement

Patricia A. Champion

Champion

  • Office: 217 Galvin Life Sciences
  • Phone: 574.631.8375
  • Email: champion.7@nd.edu
  • Department: Biological Sciences
  • Research Interests: Molecular genetics of mycobacterial protein secretion and pathogenesis

Mayland Chang

chang

  • Office: 354C McCourtney Hall
  • Phone: 574.631.2965
  • Email: mchang@nd.edu
  • Department: Chemistry and Biochemistry
  • Research Interests: Molecular basis of diabetic wound healing, discovery of new classes of antibacterials, drug metabolism and pharmacokinetics

 

Juan Del Valle

Juan Del Valle

  • Office: 240G McCourtney Hall
  • Phone: 574.631.9864
  • Email: jdelvalle@nd.edu
  • Department: Chemistry and Biochemistry
  • Research Interests: Life processes, medicine and synthesis

Michael T. Ferdig

Michael Ferdig

  • Office: 280 Galvin Life Sciences
  • Phone: 574.631.9973
  • Email: mferdig@nd.edu
  • Department: Biological Sciences
  • Research Interests: Genetics and genomics of drug resistance and virulence in the malaria parasite

Ana Flores-Mireles

Ana Flores Mirales
  • Office: 351 Galvin Life S
  • Phone: 574.631.4964
  • Email: afloresm@nd.edu
  • Department: Biological Sciences
  • Research Interests: deciphering key host and pathogen determinants for infection and targeting them to develop novel antibiotic-sparing therapies

Holly V. Goodson

goodson

  • Office: 439 Stepan Chemistry
  • Phone: 574.631.7744
  • Email: hgoodson@nd.edu
  • Department: Chemistry and Biochemistry
  • Research Interests: Cytoskeleton organization and microtubule interactions

Paul Helquist

helquist

  • Office: 361 Stepan Chemistry
  • Phone: 574.631.7822
  • Email: Paul.Helquist.1@nd.edu
  • Department: Chemistry and Biochemistry
  • Research Interests: Synthetic methods, synthesis and mechanism of action of biologically active compounds

Shaun Lee

lee

  • Office: 325 Galvin Life Sciences
  • Phone: 574.631.7197
  • Email: lee.310@nd.edu
  • Department: Biological Sciences
  • Research Interests: Molecular macrobiology and biosynthesis of peptide antibiotics

Laurie Littlepage

Littlepagesquare

  • Office: 132 Harper Hall
  • Phone: 574.631.4804
  • Email: llittlep@nd.edu
  • Department: Chemistry and Biochemistry
  • Research Interests: Mechanisms of cancer progression

Xin Lu

Xin L

  • Office: 109 Galvin Life Science Center
  • Phone: 574-631-6592
  • Email: xlu@nd.edu
  • Department: Biological Sciences
  • Research Interests: Molecular Understanding and Immunotherapy of Metastatic Cancer

Mary Ann McDowell

Mary Ann Mcdowell

  • Office: 215 Galvin Life Sciences
  • Phone: 574.631.9771
  • Email: mcdowell.11@nd.edu
  • Department: Biological Sciences
  • Research Interests: Immunobiology of Leishmania infections

Christian Melander

Christian Melander

  • Office: 204F McCourtney Hall
  • Phone: 574.631.9036
  • Email: cmelande@nd.edu
  • Department: Chemistry and Biochemistry
  • Research Interests: medicinal chemistry, synthesis, drug delivery, infectious diseases

Shahriar Mobashery

mobashery

  • Office: 354B McCourtney Hall
  • Phone: 574.631.2933
  • Email: mobashery@nd.edu
  • Department: Chemistry and Biochemistry
  • Research Interests: Mechanism of resistance to antibiotics, development and mechanism of action of novel antibiotics

Brittany Morgan, July 2022

Brittany Morgan
  • Office: McCourtney Hall
  • Phone: 574.631.
  • Email: bmorgan3@nd.edu
  • Department: Chemistry & Biochemistry
  • Research Interests: Life Processes, Medicine and Syntheses

Jeffrey Peng

Jeff Peng

  • Office: 434 Stepan Chemistry
  • Phone: 574.631.2983
  • Email: jpeng@nd.edu
  • Department: Chemistry & Biochemistry
  • Research Interests: NMR spectroscopy, molecular flexibility and dynamics

Jeanne Romero-Severson

Jeanne Romero Severson

  • Office: 327 Galvin Life Science Center
  • Phone: 574.631.3938
  • Email: jromeros@nd.edu
  • Department: Biological Sciences
  • Research Interests: Genetic mechanisms that result in complex phenotypes

Felipe Santiago-Tirado

Felipe Santiago Tirado
    • Office: 278 Galvin Life Sciences
    • Phone: 574.631.4096
    • Email: fsantiago@nd.edu
    • Department: Biological Sciences;
    • Research Interests: Cell Biology, Microbiology, and Yeast Genetics

Arnaldo Serrano

Serrano
  • Office: 361 Stephan Chemistry Hall
  • Phone: 574.631.0011
  • Email: aserran1@nd.edu
  • Department: Chemistry and Biochemistry
  • Research Interests: Life Processes and Measurement

Joshua Shrout

Joshua Shrout
  • Office: 214 A Cushing Hall
  • Phone: 574.631.1726
  • Email: joshua.shrout@nd.edu
  • Department: Civil and Environmental Engineering; and Earth Sciences;
  • Research Interests: Microbiology/Bacteriology, Community and motility behavior of bacteria

Bradley D. Smith

Brad Smith
  • Office: 340 McCourtney Hall
  • Phone: 574.631.8632
  • Email: Bradley.D.Smith.115@nd.edu
  • Department: Chemistry and Biochemistry
  • Research Interests: Bioorganic and supramolecular chemistry, in vivo animal imaging

Sharon Stack

Sharon Stack

  • Office: A200D Harper
  • Phone: 574.631.2518
  • Email: Sharon.Stack.11@nd.edu 
  • Department: Chemistry and Biochemistry
  • Research Interests: Regulation of proteolysis and adhesion

Richard E. Taylor

Taylor

  • Office: 305A McCourtney Hall
  • Phone: 574.631.5674
  • Email: taylor.61@nd.edu
  • Department: Chemistry and Biochemistry
  • Research Interests: Synthetic organic chemistry: conformation-activity relationships of polyketide natural products

Matthew Webber

Matthew Webber
  • Office: 205B McCourtney Hall
  • Phone: 574.631.4246
  • Email:mwebber@nd.edu
  • Department: Engineering
  • Research Interests: Drug Delivery, Protein engineering

Rebecca Whelan

Rebecca Whelan Resized

  • Phone: 574.631.1853
  • Email: rwhelan1@nd.edu
  • Department: Chemistry and Biochemistry
  • Research Interests: Biochemistry & Physical/Analytical Chemistry, Cancer, Diagnostics, and Medicine

Katharine White

Katherine White
  • Office: A128 Harper Hall
  • Phone: 574.631.9962
  • Email: kwhite6@nd.edu
  • Department: Chemistry and Biochemistry
  • Research Interests: Biochemistry, Metabolism, Molecular Biology

Olaf Wiest

Wiest

  • Office: 305 McCourtney Hall
  • Phone: 574.631.5876
  • Email: Olaf.G.Wiest.1@nd.edu
  • Department: Chemistry and Biochemistry
  • Research Interests: Organic and bioorganic reaction mechanisms